The Kind Diet

26 Jan

If you have not purchased a copy of Alicia Silverstone’s “The Kind Diet” you should get to a bookstore now!!

This book is not only an great introduction to veganism and macrobiotics (a diet I’m not ready to commit to) but is full of GREAT recipes.  I have made several of the recipes and loved every one…ok, well the pumpkin bread was not so hot, but in Alicia’s defense I was dividing the recipe and forgot to divide the baking soda. Ever brushed your teeth with baking soda?  Well just imagine that flavored with with pumpkin puree and chocolate chips and you’d just about have what my bread tasted like! Needless to say, it is now in the bottom of my trash bin.

The book also includes two weeks worth of meal plans…a vegan meal plan and a “superhero” meal plan which is macrobiotic.  This week I am working my way through the vegan meal plan.  So far this week I have had:

Hot Rice with cold lemon, basil and tomato (a rice based salad which is very refreshing and would be great for hot summer days)

Collard greens with pine nuts and raisins (does this even need explaining how good it is?)

Sweet Potato-Lentil Stew (spicy!) over couscous

Oatmeal, walnut and dried plum (I used cherries) cookies (my favorite cookies)

Crocodile crunch (a great fruit based dish with a dressing of spirulina, almond butter, maple syrup, soy milk and o.j and topped with granola)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (AMAZING!!!)

I will also be trying:

Radicchio Pizza w/truffle oil

Rustic pasta with pecan crusted seitan and steamed greens

Quick Date Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

“Chorizo” Tacos

Rice, Black Soybean and Kabocha Squash Stew

Baby Bok Choy drizzled with Ume Vinaigrette

Coffee Fudge Brownies

Waffle, “Sausage” and Cheese Panini

2 Responses to “The Kind Diet”

  1. Carolyn January 26, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I adore Alicia and her book. As a matter of fact I just mentioned it in my list of fave cookbooks on my blog 🙂

  2. ellen January 27, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    Have I thanked you recently for your wonderful blog? I just love how you’re journaling your transition and appreciate all you insights so much. It’s a fun, inspiring, joyous guide and I am really grateful to you for being so generous with your time and experience!!

Leave a Reply

