21 Days Down/Kickstart Weekend

23 Jan

Well I managed to almost be a vegan for all 21 days and lived to tell about it! I will definitely continue the journey. I am really loving the food I’m making though it is a bit hard when dining out of the house. But I feel really good about the decision I have made…lighter somehow. I have come to realize that I am going to have to keep vegan convenience food on hand though. If I am ill (ok…lazy) and don’t feel like cooking and have no substantial leftovers I can easily spend a day with a growling stomach. Not good!

Saturday

My Vegan Meal Plan

Breakfast: Spinach and mushroom fritatta; toast w Earth Balance; Teeccino w soy cream

Lunch: Leftover Potato Gnocchi

Dinner: Pita with hummus, tomato and cucumber salad

Sunday

My Vegan Meal Plan

Breakfast: Oatmeal French Toast w maple syrup; vegan soyage; Teeccino w soy cream

Lunch: Caramelized onion and pear Flatbread*

Dinner: Potato and Cauliflower Curry; sautéd kale

Dessert: One bite of a Vegan Woopie Pie (not in the mood for sweets)

*After finishing the Flatbread my stomach started feeling badly…like it did the last time I had dairy. But of course I had had no dairy! Had I? Pears and onions? Not dairy. Basil and walnuts? Definitely not dairy. Bread? Bread has no dairy…except apparently naan. The one item that I didn’t check the ingredient list on and it has buttermilk in it! Yuck! That’s what I get for assuming and not paying attention…

Leave a Reply

