Meditation is Hard/Kickstart Day 18

20 Jan

And thus begins the meditation experiment.  I love the idea of learning how to center myself and become calmer under fire which is what has led me to want to try this.  I also love the idea of learning to live in the moment and come to terms with the fact that no matter how much I am enjoying the moment, the moment is fleeting.  It is pointless to try and hold on to anything external (and often internal) that makes us feel good, happy, alive, loved etc…as the saying goes, “this too shall pass”…the bad and, sadly, also the good.  Oh to come to terms with that and always be at peace.

But meditation is hard.  I had my first sitting this morning (dragged myself up at 6:30 – not going so well but I am still working on it).  I had to have a shower first to wake myself up as it seems falling asleep during meditation is common.  Falling asleep was not a problem for me…it was staying still and trying to keep my thoughts from wandering to how much longer it would be before my alarm signaled my 20 minutes were up.  I did get into the “zone” a couple of times though, just feeling my breath and the rise and fall of my back with each inhale and exhale…it was a pretty cool, peaceful feeling and has motivated me to keep trying.  I didn’t notice any significant difference in how I felt the rest of the day though.  Maybe it takes time and practice?

My Vegan Meal Plan:

Breakfast: Oatmeal with bananas, walnuts, a drizzle of maple syrup and splash of soy milk; teeccino with soy cream

Lunch: Yellow curry with tofu, loads of veggies and brown rice; water

Dinner: Buckwheat pasta (I used tofu rather than seitan)*; sauteed kale; water

Dessert: 2 beers

*I did not originally intend to have tofu twice in one day but was not hungry last night for the buckwheat pasta recipe that I had already purchased ingredients for…so I went ahead and made that dish for dinner.  I also have yet to learn to love seitan…the store bought stuff is gross and I have yet to learn to make my own. But its on my list!

2 Responses to “Meditation is Hard/Kickstart Day 18”

  1. Karrie January 20, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    I think it’s great that you’re taking time out to meditate every day, it’s a great way of balancing and composing yourself and letting your mind work out all the events of the day. When I first started I had trouble staying still as well and I found that having something to focus on helped. I used to light a candle and place it infront of me on the floor and by just concentrating on the flame flickering I was able to let my mind wander to where it needed to go. Sorry for rambling but I just wanted to let you know that it does get easier to get into the “zone”.

    Take care!

  2. Carolyn January 25, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I also light a candle and find it helps. You might also want to start with only 10 minutes, then slowly increase it to 20. And finally, some days are just plain harder than others!

Leave a Reply

