Meditation and Multitasking/Kickstart Day 8

11 Jan

I have been told very recently, by a nutritionist no less, to try meditation.  Today’s Action plan talks about stopping multi-tasking and starting to meditate which helps create a more focused mindset in all that one does.  I admit that I am a little afraid of meditation.  I have tried it briefly in the past and ITS HARD!!  I’m thinking of checking out this book to see if it offers any helps.  I find that I have a much easier time with learning new things when they are broken down in a step by step program with exact directions. If anyone has tried this book I would love to hear about your experience.

I definitely have always had issues (and I think most people do) with multitasking.  I go through periods where I make up my mind to concentrate on one thing at a time and find that I am so much more productive and less stressed.  But then a few days go by and I go right back to doing five things at once. So this week I vow to TRY and stop multi-tasking.  Not that it won’t happen (habits are hard to break) but I can at least pay attention to when I start multi-tasking, recenter myself and go back to uni-tasking.  Maybe after 21 days of trying I’ll actually succeed in breaking the habit!

http://zenhabits.net/how-not-to-multitask-work-simpler-and/

My (Almost) Vegan Meal Plan

Breakfast: Oatmeal with cinnamon and raisens

Lunch: Missing egg salad* on whole wheat bread; baked pita chips; carrot; water

Snack: Frozen mango chunks; chips and salsa

Dinner: BBQ chickpeas** over quinoa; water

Dessert: Chocolate Raspberry Mousse

*I was confused on this recipe when it calls for firm silken tofu.  I know firm and I know silken tofu but no firm silken.  It may exist but I don’t know about it!  I used silken and it came out a little too fine and runny in texture.  From now on I will use a firm tofu instead. Also, this was made with my egg based mayo so not vegan.

**I made a homemade BBQ sauce but was not happy with the results.  I like my BBQ smoky and tangy and the one I made came out too sweet.  I will keep trying though.  I did like the chickpea base.  Much healthier than any of the faux meat bases.  I did not like it over the quinoa and will stick to hamburger buns and cornbread!

2 Responses to “Meditation and Multitasking/Kickstart Day 8”

  1. Kristi January 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I’ve had a heck of a time trying to make my own bbq sauce, as well. let me know if you find a recipe that works.
    Fun new blog.

  2. Carolyn January 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I haven’t tried the book but it looks like it might be helpful. I used to meditate every day but have been out of the habit for awhile now. I’ve recently restarted…the only bit of advice I have to offer is the longer you keep it up the more youget out of it, so hit the meditation pillow every day, no matter what! The other thing I find is that I have to get it done first thing every morning…if not I find every excuse in the book not to do it.
    Firm silken tofu…can’t help you. I have exactly the same problem! And no solution either 😀
    Love your blog!
    Carolyn
    http://www.project21days.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

