Skinny Bitch

9 Dec

So I finally purchased my first vegan cookbook!  Out of 7 or 8 cookbooks that I have checked out of the library over the last month “Skinny Bitch in the Kitch” is the only one that I found myself loving every recipe tested. From the “Bitch’n Breakfast Burrito” to the “Hummus Tempeh and Cucumber Wrap” and the “Steamed Veggies with Tofu and Brown Rice” there has not been a recipe that I haven’t loved!   The book includes other pre-veg faves such as four “cheese” mac-n-cheese and potatoes au gratin, both of which I can’t wait to try!  As Kim Barnouin states in a recent EcoStiletto interview many of the recipes in SBitK use processed foods, such as meat substitutes, so for the long run these recipes are not the best to use on a regular basis but are great for new vegans who are easing into the plant-based lifestyle. Giving up sausage is not easy for me but Gimme Lean Ground Sausage style veggie protein has made it way bearable! I love this stuff!  I plan to use SBitK’s uber-easy to make, uber-delicious to eat albeit more processed recipes as occasional meals and make most of my meals from foods that are as close to nature as possible (like the korma recipe from last night! I swear I could just pour that sauce over basmati rice and lap it up!).  I do have Kim’s new SB cookbook on my library hold list and hopefully will find it just as fantastic as SBitK.

 

Leave a Reply

